The Inn’s History

The mission style Oxford House Inn was built in 1913 for Charles and Blanche Fox as a private residence by renowned Portland architect John Calvin Stevens.  The building was erected on part of the foundation of the Oxford Hotel, a one hundred room resort on Main street which, along with 14 surrounding buildings, burned to the ground in 1906. The Foxes, Fryeburg lumber bar ons, spared no expense when building their home.  Local tight grain oak floors, imported Cyprus woodwork and leaded glass built-in cabinets are among the craftsman style masterpieces the inn showcases today. After serving as the Fox’s home for many years, the building was converted into a doctor’s office for a short time, then back to a residence.   In 1985, John and Phyllis Morris, along with their two boys, lovingly turned the building into a restaurant and four room inn.  For 23 years the Morrises called The Oxford House Inn their home, serving countless customers with elegance and charm.  They turned over the keys to Jonathan and Natalie Spak in September of 2007 who continued the legacy of the Inn for another 17 years.  In February 2024, the inn changed hands for a 3rd time.  Lillian Chalifour and Michael Clukey are now the proud owners and plan to continue the inn’s reputation for excellent food and friendly service.